Prairie State Wire

Prairie State Wire

Tuesday, December 10, 2019

Republicans allow anti-Trump resolution to pass Illinois House

State Government

By Glenn Minnis | May 22, 2018


The Illinois House, aided by 13 Republican members who abstained from voting, has passed a resolution urging members of Congress to reject President Donald Trump’s proposed infrastructure plan.

Sponsored by state Rep. Marcus Evans (D-Chicago), the measure passed 55-44, with Reps. Terri Bryant (R-Murphysboro), John Cavaletto (R-Salem), Norine Hammond (R-Macomb), Sheri Jesiel (R-Winthrop Harbor), David Reis (R-Willow Hill), Dave Severin (R-Benton), Lindsay Parkhurst (R-Kankakee), David S. Olsen (R-Downers Grove), Bill Mitchell (R-Forsyth), Tony McCombie (R-Savana), Jerry Lee Long (R-Streator), Michael D. Unes (R-East Peoria), Christine Winger (R-Wood Dale) all electing not to cast votes in a process where their collective "yes" vote could have made the difference.

They represent downstate district where Trump remains immensely popular among voters.

Rep. Christine Winger voted 'yes' in committee but cast a "no vote" on the floor.

Five democratic House members voted against the measure: Reps. Monica Bristow (D-Godfrey), Jerry Costello Jr (D-Smithton), Sue Scherer (D-Decatur), Katie Stuart (D-Edwardsville) and Mike Halpin (D-Rock Island). 

Several media outlets have reported Trump’s sweeping infrastructure plan calls for $200 billion in federal spending, with the added goal of attracting an additional $1.5 trillion investment from private and local investors.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois House of Representatives ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Illinois House of Representatives, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois House of Representatives

More News