Prairie State Wire

Prairie State Wire

Thursday, April 9, 2020

$390,000 for Democrats, $9,000 for Republicans; See which Illinois political campaigns AFSCME worker dues have funded in 2018

State Government

By LGIS News Service | Jun 28, 2018

Brandon johnson
Socialist Cook County Board Candidate Brandon Johnson has been the largest recipient of AFSCME worker dues this year, | Youtube

Illinois' largest public employee union has given 98 percent of its political donations this year to Democrats, according to an analysis of state filings by Prairie State Wire.

The Springfield-based American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees union (AFSCME) has given $398,515 in member dues to political campaigns since the beginning of 2018, per Illinois State Board of Elections filings through June 27.

Of the total, $389,515 has gone to Democrats and $9,000 to Republicans.

The one-sided political advocacy of AFSCME and other large public employee unions, in part, prompted the recent Janus decision by the U.S. Supreme Court. It effectively bans the long-standing practice of forcing government union workers to fund political campaigns as a condition of their employment.

AFSCME currently collects such dues from approximately 35,000 State of Illinois employees.

Those dues, many of which come from Republican employees, have been used this year to back dozens of Democrat state legislative and county board candidates.

Candidates receiving the most support from AFSCME this year include Cook County Board candidate Brandon Johnson ($56,750), State Rep. Christian Mitchell of Chicago ($52,400), Attorney General candidate and State Sen. Kwame Raoul ($50,000), State Rep. Natalie Manley of Joliet ($25,000), Senate President John Cullerton's Senate Democratic Victory Fund ($25,000) and State Rep. candidate Lamont Robinson ($20,000).

All are Democrats.

Johnson is a socialist Chicago Teachers Union official who challenged and defeated incumbent Cook County Board Member Richard Boykin (D-Oak Park) after he opposed Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle's deeply unpopular soda tax. 

Robinson is running to replace lieutenant governor candidate State Rep. Juliana Stratton (D-Chicago), whose heavily gerrymandered fifth district tracks Chicago's State Street from the Gold Coast to Washington Park on the far south side, more than 10 miles away.

Mitchell, Manley, Cullerton and Raoul have been major AFSCME allies in Springfield, opposing pension reforms while lobbying for higher salaries and less accountability for unionized state employees.

Republican State Rep. Terri Bryant (R-Murphysboro) and failed downstate Republican state Senate candidate Rafael Him have both received $3,000 from AFSCME this year.

Him finished third in a four-way primary to replace outgoing State Sen. Kyle McCarter (R-Lebanon), whose district includes parts of the Metro East. Business executive Jason Plummer easily won the race with 57 percent of the vote.

AFCME also gave $2,500 to Winnebago County Sheriff Gary Caruana and $250 each to two Winnebago County board candidates.


Which candidates are getting AFSCME member dues?

AFSCME's top 30 candidates for office in 2018 have all been Democrats.


Cook County Board candidate Brandon Johnson DemocratChicago$56,750
State Rep. Christian Mitchell DemocratChicago$52,400
Attorney General candidate Kwame RaoulDemocratChicago$50,000
State Rep. Natalie ManleyDemocratJoliet$25,000
Senate Democratic Victory Fund/John CullertonDemocratChicago$25,000
State Rep. candidate Lamont RobinsonDemocratChicago$20,000
State Rep. Lance YednockDemocratOttawa$11,200
State Sen. Andy ManarDemocratBunker Hill$10,000
State Sen. candidate Gregg JohnsonDemocratRock Island$10,000
State Rep. candidate Laura MyersDemocratDonnellson$8,000
Cook County Board member Stanley MooreDemocratChicago$7,800
Cook County Board member Deborah SimsDemocratChicago$7,500
State Rep. candidate David BonnerDemocratMatteson$6,050
Cook County Board candidate Bridget DegnenDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. Robert RitaDemocratBlue Island$5,000
State Rep. Robert MartwickDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. Justin SlaughterDemocratChicago$5,000
State Sen. Iris MartinezDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. Mary FlowersDemocratChicago$5,000
Cook County Board candidate Kevin MorrisonDemocratElk Grove Village$5,000
Cook County Board member Dennis DeerDemocratChicago$5,000
Cook County board candidate Bill LowryDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. candidate Jennifer Gong-GershowitzDemocratGlenview$5,000
State Rep. candidate Daniel DidechDemocratBuffalo Grove$5,000
State Sen. candidate Ann GillespieDemocratMount Prospect$5,000
State Rep. Elizabeth HernandezDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. Kelly CassidyDemocratChicago$5,000
Secretary of State Jesse WhiteDemocratChicago$5,000
State Rep. Thaddeus JonesDemocratCalumet City$5,000
Illinois Democrat County Chairs' Assn.DemocratSpringfield$5,000

Source: Illinois State Board of Elections

Want to get notified whenever we write about American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees Council 31 - Springfield Affiliate ?

Sign-up Next time we write about American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees Council 31 - Springfield Affiliate, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

American Federation of State County and Municipal Employees Council 31 - Springfield Affiliate

More News