Prairie State Wire

Prairie State Wire

Monday, January 20, 2020

Democrats strengthen their control of the Illinois Senate


By LGIS News Service | Nov 7, 2018

Illinois state capitol pano

Democrats strengthened their grip on the Illinois Senate by flipping several districts in a midterm election that saw turnout swell over what occurred in the 2014 midterm vote.

Democrats were leading in eight of the 19 contested Senate seats Tuesday night, while Republican candidates led in 11 districts. But some contests remain too close to call.

Even so, if those trends hold, Democrats will widen their control of the Senate. Democrats could have 41 seats in the Senate when the next legislative session begins, compared to 18 for Republicans. That's well over the three-fifths vote threshold needed to override a governor's veto.

Currently, 37 of the 59 senators are Democrats, compared to 22 Republicans. Two-thirds of the Senate districts were on Tuesday's state ballot, but in 20 of them, only one major-party candidate was running.

The number of votes cast in Senate districts that were also on the ballot in 2014 stood at 899,495 on Tuesday. That compares to 658,798 votes cast in those same districts four years ago, indicating that about 37 percent more voters cast ballots for senators this year.

Results from competitive Illinois Senate races

District #DemocratVotes%Republican Votes%% of votes countedTotal votes 2018Total votes 2014
9Laura Fine71,33572Joan McCarthy Lasonde28,3642810099,69955,986
21Laura Ellman4746450Michael Connelly*47,4765010094,94061,393
23Thomas Cullerton*37,96854Seth Lewis31,8474610069,815

24Suzanne Glowiak48,94650Chris Nybo*48,6605010097,60678,947
26Tom Georges39,24845Dan McConchie*48,729559887,977

27Ann Gillespie44,82251Tom Rooney*42,2144910087,03655,928
29Julie Morrison*49,48863Barrett Davie28,9103710078,398

30Terry Link*37,92168Soojae Lee17,8953210055,81644,556
32Mary Mahady30,36644Craig Wilcox*38,7455610069,111

33Nancy Zettler38,39348Donald DeWitte*40,8695210079,26254,102
36Gregg Johnson37,32049Neil Anderson*38,6435110075,96366,137
38Heidi Henry32,48840Sue Rezin*47,7536010080,241

41Bridget Fitzgerald45,71449John Curran*48,2535110093,967

45David Simpson29,36237Brian Stewart49,560639778,92259,865
48Andy Manar*41,78957Seth McMillion31,9224310073,71161,851
54Brian Stout24,58930Jason Plummer58,1147010082,70360,923
56Rachelle Aud Crowe45,35658Hal Patton32,3974210077,753

57Christopher Belt43,57759Tanya Hildenbrand30,2604110073,83759,110
59Steve Webb31,72639Dale Fowler*50,1726110081,898


* Incumbent

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois State Senate ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Illinois State Senate, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois State Senate

More News